News: 2016 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Date posted: 15 Apr 2016Author: STC Production: Power Plays, Battle of Waterloo, Boys will be boys

Today, the shortlists for the 2016 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced. The nominees for the Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting are a very talented bunch and we're proud that two of them were part of STC's 2015 season. Here is the complete shortlist:

Boys will be boys, Melissa Bubnic (Sydney Theatre Company)

Broken, Mary Anne Butler (Currency Press)

The Bleeding Tree, Angus Cerini (Currency Press in association with Griffin Theatre Company)

Battle of Waterloo, Kylie Coolwell (Sydney Theatre Company)

Hello, Goodbye & Happy Birthday, Roslyn Oades (Malthouse Theatre)

STC's Literary Manager Polly Rowe was instrumental in the programming and development of both Boys will be boys and Battle of Waterloo. As she notes:

"It's almost without precedent for a playwright to make their debut in Wharf 1 at the STC, so it is particularly thrilling that Kylie Coolwell’s brilliant first play, Battle of Waterloo, has been shortlisted. She is a gifted writer, with a unique voice and a remarkable ear for dialogue – which the actors in our production had a wonderful time mastering. And we’re proud that this play was grown through our Rough Draft and commissioning programs.

Melissa Bubnic is a provocative and uncompromising writer who, in Boys will be boys, fearlessly grappled with complex gender and power politics. Her leading lady, Astrid Wentworth, is a wonderfully wicked creation and a gift for an actress. We’re chuffed to see the play going on in London and looking forward to seeing Mel’s contribution to our production of Power Plays later this year."

Last year's productions of both plays were directed by STC Resident Artists – Battle of Waterloo by Resident Director Sarah Goodes and Boys will be boys by Richard Wherrett Fellow Paige Rattray. Both Sarah and Paige also helped in the development of the play scripts from drafts to final production. As Polly puts it, "The sisterhood of the STC can feel proud! These nominations acknowledge the great work and achievements of female theatre makers who are leading the art form."




Remember the shows? Let us know your thoughts. Tag @sydneytheatreco and #STCBattleOfWaterloo or #STCBoysWillBeBoys


Top: Melissa Bubnic and Kylie Coolwell
Middle: Shari Sebbens, Luke Carroll, Guy Simon, James Slee, Roxanne McDonald and Billy McPherson in Battle of Waterloo (Photo: Lisa Tomasetti)
Bottom: Danielle Cormack in Boys will be boys (Photo: Brett Boardman)