Patrick White Playwrights Award

The Patrick White Playwrights Award has been an annual initiative of Sydney Theatre Company since 2000. It is held in honour of Patrick White’s contribution to Australian theatre and to foster the development of Australian playwrights. The Award exists to showcase an unproduced script. 

The Patrick White Playwrights Award offers a cash prize of $7,500 for a full-length unproduced play of any genre written by an Australian playwright over the age of 18 years. The readers and judges assessing the scripts seek a work that is original and artistically ambitious, with great potential for a stage production. 

The winner of the 2019 Patrick White Playwrights Award is Keziah Warner for LuNa.

2019 Patrick White Playwrights Award shortlisted plays:

LuNa by Keziah Warner
Night by Diane Stubbings
Security by Michele Lee
The Devil Girls from Planet M by Noëlle Janaczewska
way back when by Dylan Van Den Berg

Entries for the 2020 Patrick White Playwrights Award will open in October 2020.

Enquiries: (02) 9250 1700 or playwrights@sydneytheatre.com.au