Patrick White Playwrights Award Terms and Conditions of Entry

Conditions of Entry 2021

  1. To be eligible, playwrights must be Australian citizens or legally recognised permanent residents of Australia (including eligible New Zealand citizens resident in Australia), and be currently residing in Australia as of Monday 29 November 2021.

  2. Playwrights must be over the age of 18 years as of Monday 29 November 2021.

  3. Only one play may be submitted by each playwright. Co-authored plays may be submitted, but no co-author can submit a second play written by themselves.
  4. Playwrights cannot apply for the Patrick White Award AND the Patrick White Fellowship.
  5. Eligible works will be those which:
    • are the original work of the author;
    • have not previously been submitted to the Award (including earlier drafts);
    • will not have had a professional production before 31 May 2022 (a professional production is deemed to be any full-length presentation of the play by professional performers to a paying public or for radio or television broadcast; workshops and readings are not deemed to constitute a professional production);
    • are not adaptations;
    • are not re-writings of works from one medium to another (e.g. script for radio presentation adapted for stage presentation).
  6. The Award is open to plays which have been commissioned or scheduled for production by third parties, provided that:
    • Sydney Theatre Company is notified of full details of the play’s encumbrance;
    • The first performance of the play does not occur before 31 May 2022.
  7. By submitting a play to the Patrick White Playwrights Award, the applicant warrants that: 
    • the play is their own original work; 
    • that they are the sole owner of the intellectual property within the submitted work; 
    • that the work is not an adaptation of any other work, including but not limited to an adaptation of a play, radio play, film, book or television production; 
    • to the best of the author’s knowledge, the work will not be defamatory. Furthermore, the applicant will disclose to STC if the submitted play is based on recognisable real life people or events.
  8. The applicant agrees to indemnify Sydney Theatre Company against any claims, costs or damages arising from any breach of the terms in Condition 7.
  9. Plays commissioned by Sydney Theatre Company are not eligible for entry.
  10. All nominations must be submitted by completing the online entry form and uploading a Microsoft Word document (.doc or .docx) of the nominated play, with the file name as the full title of the work only. PDF files will not be accepted. The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the script. Plays will not be accepted by email, post or facsimile.
  11. Online entry will close at 5pm Monday 29 November 2021. No other form of entry will be considered. It is the responsibility of the playwright to ensure that entries are submitted online before the deadline.
  12. The judges reserve the right to decide any questions of eligibility, to publish a shortlist and not to make an Award.
  13. The decision of the judges shall be final and no correspondence or discussion shall be entered into concerning any of their decisions or rulings.
  14. In the case of a play which is not under commission or option to another company, Sydney Theatre Company shall have the first exclusive option to enter into a licence to produce the work of the winning playwright in Australia. The exclusive option will be for a period of 6 months from the time of announcing the Award. In the case of the winning play being licensed by Sydney Theatre Company, further negotiations will be entered into with the playwright at that time and in good faith.
  15. Sydney Theatre Company does not commit to programming and/or producing the winning play.
  16. The winner of the Award will be announced at an event in May 2022 and will be provided with transfers from their place of usual residence (within Australia only) to attend the Award ceremony in Sydney.
  17. The winner of the Award agrees to all reasonable requests to promote the Award and to attend functions and events arranged by the organisers for this purpose, including a reading of the winning play at the event in May 2022.
  18. Employees of Sydney Theatre Company are not eligible to enter. This includes current participants of the STC Emerging Writers Group and the current Patrick White Playwrights Fellow.