Education

Young Wharfies

YOUNG WHARFIES: A YEAR OF CREATIVITY, COLLABORATION AND THEATRE

A free intensive program for Year 11 Drama students at Sydney Theatre Company

Young Wharfies is an engaging and free learning program for 2022 Year 11 Drama students who are inspired by the power and creativity of theatre. 

The group of students selected to be 2022 Young Wharfies will spend a year attending productions, participating in workshops and meeting artists and creatives at STC.

In 2022, the Young Wharfies will:

We strongly encourage students who are Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander, from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, and those living with disability to apply.

 

Draft 2022 Timetable

The Young Wharfies meet during the school term on Monday afternoon/evenings, with the exception of one Tuesday. As a rough guide, the masterclasses run from 4.30 to 6.30pm. On nights where the Young Wharfies also see a show, depending on the run time of the show, the night will end at approximately 9.30pm.

The current dates (subject to change) are: Mon 31 Jan, Mon 28 Feb, Mon 14 March, Mon 4 April, Tues 10 May, Mon 6 June, Mon 18 July, Mon 15 Aug, Mon 12 Sep, Mon 14 Nov, Mon 28 Nov and Mon 5 Dec.

 

"It has been eye-opening, inspiring and enriching. Being given the rare opportunity to meet and workshop with professionals who actively know what it’s like to work in the theatre industry has been truly incredible." 
Josephine Lee, Young Wharfie 2019

 

Curriculum links
Young Wharfies aims to build theatre literacy through watching and analysing how meaning is created in live theatre, from the Elements of Drama to directorial choices and Elements of Production.

Applications for the 2022 program are now open. To apply, fill out the online application form. Make sure you check out the video guidelines before filming your application.

Applications for the 2022 Young Wharfies have now closed.

For any questions, please contact us at studentlearning@sydneytheatre.com.au or (02) 9250 1778.